Community Foundation Announces New Board Chair and Four New Board Members

WEST PALM BEACH, FL (October 15, 2014) – J.B. Murray is the new chairman of the board of directors for the Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties. Sherry Barrat, Libby Marshall, Lisa Morgan and Chris Storkerson are new board members. The Foundation’s board approved these appointments at their summer meeting, effective July 1, 2014. Members serve three-year terms.

“The Community Foundation is led by a board of local leaders that represent the communities we serve, and who are united by a passion for making a difference,” said Brad Hurlburt, president and CEO. “We are excited for the next chapter in our 40-year history under J.B.’s leadership, and we welcome the experience and guidance of our new board members. They will be tremendous assets to the Foundation as we continue to fulfill our mission of building vibrant communities through philanthropy.”

J.B. Murray is the managing partner of Squire Patton Boggs’ West Palm Beach office. His practice focuses on complex commercial litigation, including probate and trust litigation. He has served on the Foundation’s board of directors for six years, and was previously secretary and vice chair. Murray is a long-time resident of Palm Beach County and currently resides in Palm Beach. He was formerly on the boards of the Palm Beach Zoo, Palm Beach Rehabilitation Center and Mounts Botanical Garden.

Sherry S. Barrat was vice chairman of the Northern Trust Company and a member of its management committee before she retired in 2012. Previously, she served as president of Northern Trust’s personal financial services global business and held other leadership positions within the company in Palm Beach, Los Angeles and Chicago. Now a resident of Singer Island, Barrat is a corporate director at NextEra Energy, Prudential Insurance Funds and Arthur J. Gallagher & Co. She is an emeritus trustee of Chicago’s Goodman Theatre and serves on the global advisory board of Women Corporate Directors.

Elizabeth ‘Libby’ Marshall is a Palm Beach resident and a registered landscape architect who has earned national and international acclaim with projects that include the Gateway to World Peace Memorial and Park in Hiroshima, Japan; The United States Veterans’ Hospital in Miami; Saint Mary’s Medical Center in West Palm Beach; and Dalwhinnie South Dressage Horse Ranch, White Fences in Wellington. Marshall has recently completed her fifth tem with the Florida Board of Landscape Architecture, appointed by Governors Bush, Crist and Scott. She was recently honored with an award for exemplary public service as a Palm Beach Town Council appointee to the Landmarks and Preservation Commission; and has been presented with numerous service awards by the American Society of Landscape Architects.

A resident of Gulf Stream, Lisa M. Morgan has her juris doctor and practiced law before moving into real estate management where she currently serves as president of Mumma Realty Associates. She is treasurer of the board of directors and sits on the grants review committee for Impact 100 Palm Beach County, a women’s giving group that has a fund at the Community Foundation thatawards high-impact grants to local nonprofits. She is also on the board of the Gulf Stream School and Gulf Stream Bath & Tennis Club. Morgan is a past volunteer at the Delray Beach Historical Society; Lupus Foundation, Southeast Florida Chapter; Bethesda Hospital; Little Club; and several other local organizations.

Christopher W. Storkerson is a senior vice president and wealth strategist at Northern Trust’s Palm Beach office. He joined the company in 2005, and has over 20 years of experience in finance. He is a certified financial planner and a certified private wealth advisor.  Storkerson resides in Palm Beach and serves on the Town of Palm Beach’s Investment Advisory Committee. He is also involved with Palm Beach Day Academy and several youth lacrosse organizations.

Other members of the Community Foundation’s board of directors include Anson M. Beard, Jr.; Ray S. Celedinas; Lore Moran Dodge; George T. Elmore; Kathleen B. Emmett; Paulette Koch; Kathleen J. Kroll; Andrew Kushner; Christina M. Macfarland; Peter Matwiczyk; Lawrence J. Miller; David G. Ober, Virginia H. Smith, Douglas A. Stockham, Steven A. Templeton, and Roy J. Zuckerberg.

As one of the largest community foundations in Florida, the Foundation manages an endowment of $170 million, and has been serving the region for over 40 years. Together with its donors, the Foundation makes grants, awards scholarships and leads community efforts to improve the lives and opportunities of residents – both now and in the future.

For more information, visit




ABOUT THE COMMUNITY FOUNDATION: The Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties is one of Florida’s largest community foundations. The nonprofit organization has invested $110 million in grants and scholarships over its 40-year history. At its core, the Community Foundation is an organization created with gifts from generous people committed to local causes. For donors, the Foundation serves as a philanthropic advisor and partner. For the community, the Foundation serves as a grant maker and a civic leader. Through the support of its donors and fundholders, the Foundation has been able to address some of the community’s most pressing needs, including hunger, housing and education. For more information, visit

Category Tag(s): Articles News Press Releases